Sinning Detour #2

I guess it has only been a bit more than a month since my last Bible book review, so I’m not doing too bad.  I just know that I’m behind, because I finished Judges at least a week ago and I have yet to even start my review.  This time my excuses are the following:

  • Work, as usual.  It has been busy as hell again, and at the same time, I’ve been interviewing for a new job (same company, different group).  I found out late last week that I got the job … yay!
  • My second and more detrimental excuse is that a majority of my internet time this past week has been taken up by freaking out over The Hunger Games.  I read the books last June and I have been fangirling for this thing, hard, since that time.  Heh … saw the midnight showing Thursday with my cousin Katie and was then a zombie for most of Friday due to lack of sleep.  Then I dragged my husband with me so I could see it again (and force him to watch it) on Saturday.  😛  And all of this was time that I should have been spending finally writing my review of Judges.

I am happy to report that the movie, at least mostly, did NOT ruin the books.  I’ll probably post a review of it on my other blog at some point.  The PG-13 sanitation was my only real annoyance with it, BUT I actually think they were pretty successful in NOT over-sanitizing it.  I think they did as well as humanly possible within the confines of the MPAA rating system.  And this was something I knew to expect anyway.  But yeah, overall it’s a pretty kick-ass movie – people unfamiliar with the books probably walked into the theater expecting some sort of Michael Bay spectacle and instead what they got was this very strange and eclectic mix between a low-ish budget indie flick and a sci fi tale of a bleak dystopian future.  I’m betting there were a decent number of people who left the theater going, “WTF?”  I kinda love that though.

Anyway, I’m going to really start my review of Judges this week, I promise.  It’s going to happen.  I plan to get it done by the end of this week.  We’ll see if I can make it happen.

One thought on “Sinning Detour #2

  1. Pingback: Judges | Bible Studies With Mary Ploppins

Leave a Reply

